Bossing interview lesson observations

Own the room and exude confidence with these tips for impressive interview lessons.

Elisabeth Bowling: A Wild Surmise
5 min readJan 28, 2023
Photo by ThisisEngineering RAEng on Unsplash

As job-hunt season starts, here are a few things I love to see in interview lessons. I’ve taken part in a fair few on both sides of the table, so I’ve learned a lot by doing as well as watching. For me, the three magic keys are knowledge, confidence and affability. Whatever you can do to showcase these three things will pay dividends. So here we go:

1. Technology

To start with a controversial one: don’t use technology. Just don’t do it. It’s so rare to see, but on the very few times a candidate has started the lesson straight off, maximizing learning time, it’s such an impressive start. There’s no faffing with USBs, guest logins or worse — opening up private emails projected onto the whiteboard to dig out resources! Time after time, I see candidates start stressing and sweating because of IT issues. So what’s the solution? Do away with them. A board pen and a handout is all that’s really needed.

Example

Morning everyone — I’m going to ask this student on the front row to hand out these sheets. While he does so, I’d like to see everyone else sitting up nice and straight and looking this way while I introduce myself to you.

2. Opening ethos

Start with a warm and firm opening. A smile and a disarming self-introduction. Show how relaxed and pleased you are to be there today while quickly affirming your classroom expectations. You won’t know the school behaviour policy so don’t try to impose one; instead, lean into full positivity and continual narration of what you want students to be doing. Leave any sanctions for the leaders in the room to pick up (or not — this will tell you lots about the school too). It’s worth scripting and practising your opener in advance: a strong start will set you up beautifully. Once you’ve succinctly introduced yourself, dive straight in to the lesson.

Example

My name’s Ms Bowling and I’m so happy to be here today. I’ve heard great things about this class and I’m already impressed with the back row who are all sitting up, looking at me and ready to learn. I’m just waiting for a few of you to take your coats off and have nothing in your hands. OK great. I’m sorry I don’t know your names yet but I’ve been told you are already knowledgeable about Romantic poetry so let’s start straight away. I’m looking forward to seeing what you can do.

3. Lesson focus

I cannot emphasise this one enough. For short observations, always choose a very, very small lesson focus. If you have thirty minutes, you absolutely cannot do a whole poem! Or a page of text! Or anything super complex. Reduce your scope. Then reduce it some more. Focus on one stanza, or even one line; an opening paragraph; one sentence form; a headline; one small bite of content that you can ensure everyone masters.

Examples

4. Turn and talk

Show you can organise short bursts of turn and talk to increase engagement ratio. Be confident students will comply.

Example

In silence, everyone look at the painting on your handout. Look carefully at the man and the woman. Have a think about what they are doing, what they look like, how they might feel and what the relationship and status might be between them. Now turn to the person sitting next to you and each share three things you notice. You have one minute. Go.

5. Cold call

Use a seating plan to exemplify gentle cold call. Ideally this will happen after a turn and talk so you can be confident all children have had an opportunity to think up some ideas. Ask the school to provide a seating plan in advance of the lesson so you can prepare your calls.

Example

Everyone back to focusing on me in 3, 2, 1. I saw some great conversations about the painting, well done. We’re now going to hear a few ideas and I want everyone to listen carefully to each contribution. Hands down please. Sally at the back, start us off. What did you notice?

6. Movement

I often see teachers jump into moving around the class straight away. Often this results in them quickly losing sight of who is focused and who is off task. Until you know a class well, circulate less; stand and monitor from the front more. Own the room. Show the children you are watching.

7. Lesson consolidation

Even if you have a very short lesson time, incorporate a few minutes of silent work at the end. This way you can have an idea of the impact of your lesson (something which you’ll probably be asked about in the interview).

8. Lesson ending

Always end on time — you own the clock — and with confidence. Even if you didn’t do half of what you planned, act like it was intentional. Children and observers won’t know what you didn’t do if you own what you did do.

Example

Right everyone I want you to finish your sentence and put your pen down now. Have a glance over your sentence. Did you remember the comma in the middle? Hands up if you did. Brilliant work. All eyes on me now. I have loved teaching you today and I will be letting your teacher know how well you did. Have a brilliant rest of your day.

As we all know, interview lessons can be highly stressful and unpredictable. Hopefully these pieces of advice will help you walk in with confidence and knowing your worth. Good luck, and get in contact if you have any other recommendations.

Elisabeth Bowling @elucymay

--

--

Elisabeth Bowling: A Wild Surmise

Considering education, schools and books. Elisabeth Bowling, Assistant Principal and Head of English. I tweet at @elucymay.